On Working for the Biggies

26 Jun

Penning it Down

(A Quick Post)

I have been working like a bee with small business-owners, individual clients and lately, big corporate ones. There have been subtle shades of differences working for the two extremes, and here’s a candid admission of the same:

- Abandoning smaller fish, at least for sometime, is the norm. Once you have these biggies hovering all over you, you cannot think keep the small once simply due to the excessive demands.

- A formal contract signing is usually expected by the bigger ones. Although it is a professional practice, making sure there are no little entrapments saves the provider.

- Pay-day on fixed dates–one big client I recently worked with (though on a small project), pays only on Fridays. The other pays twice a month.

- You see more than a good hefty pay. Yes, all those expectations lead to a really lavish payday. And boy that feels good! ;)

- They are keener to read your website/blog and don’t limit themselves to reading your samples.

There, some of my observations laid out̶̶̶̶̶̶̶̶̶̶–will keep them updated as I dive in more.

4 Responses to “On Working for the Biggies”

  1. marcys July 8, 2010 at 2:58 am #

    Would you care to share how you get big corporate clients? (I don’t blame you if you don’t!)

    • Brown Eyed Mystic July 8, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      Dear Marcy,

      I will definitely share what I know-

      -I keep looking at places like FWJ (http://www.freelancewritinggigs.com/), About Freelance Writing (http://www.aboutfreelancewriting.com/), Funds for Writers (http://www.fundsforwriters.com/) and The Writer’s Weekly (http://writersweekly.com/). I don’t know if you follow them too, so here they are. If possible, even subscribe to their newsletters.

      -To get a taste of writing better, I follow these pointers: http://wp.me/pRsfv-3f

      -I’ve realised, persistence pays it all. After all, it is not as difficult as it appears once you plunge yourself in.

      -Keeping a list of past clients works–consider it as a database of future or potential projects. Ask them how they’re doing and if they have new assignments.

      -Research a lot on what’s going on, who’s charging what, read a lot about magazine guidelines and see if your writing can become their perusal. I’ve learnt that trade magazines especially are a good place to hunt, though I am yet to consider them myself.

      -Most of the corporate clients want SEO writing; their business depends on it. It is one of the lucrative ways to sell your work.
      Read up more here: http://wp.me/pRsfv-4z

      Hope this helps. If you have more questions, feel free to ask. Freelance writing can be a lovely career path, but it requires efforts especially for ones who are the sole earners.

      I will end this with saying that consistently looking and building your portfolio alongside is really all there is to it. You never know when a corporate giant will pop you an e-mail.

      Good luck with your endeavours, Marcy! Thanks for stopping by.

      -BrownEyed

  2. marcys July 14, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    Thanks so much for the pointers. Very generous of you. I’ll be back again, and I’m going to put you in my blogroll.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic July 14, 2010 at 10:03 am #

      I am happy to help Marcy :) Do let me know if there’s anything more I can do.
      Aww…Thanks for your graciousness!

      -BrownEyed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

