6-Month Anniversary, Thank Yous and Babe-Speak

4 Oct

Hello folks!

This entry holds a special place in my heart, and I’ve been meaning to post it since quite a few days. My blog marked its first half-year period on Oct 01′ 2010, and I wanted to share the sweet news with you all :)

Without you in the community, I couldn’t have continued this dreamlike journey. 6 months back, I was not even sure I’d be a writer. And here, now, every cell and pore in my body gives a  shout-out “This is FUN!”. My mind is always excited from the plethora of possibilities–and it visualises better opportunities every night. And my soul? It winks back at the two in acknowledgement. So it is like the trinity is in total alignment–and I can’t ask for more.

But then, you play a great role, seres queridos, because if it were not for you, I may have given up a few months back. Indeed, who doesn’t want their written word to be read and cherished by others? What writer doesn’t want to see fellow-writers cheering them from all corners of the world? It’s like I can hear the awesome-ones from Arizona (Janna ;)), California (Ollin ;)), Lua (Shh . . . Keep it low. She’s busy these days in London, but originally hails from beautiful Turkey), Aloysa (US/Russia ;)), Rosemary (London/New York ;)), Olivia (She has to share the secret yet ;)) and so many other beautiful people who’ve ever read/commented on my blog! If it were not for you all, I would have succumbed to the writer’s block that hit me sooo hard. Ugh. Talk about the baddies.

But, I am here, supple and gleeful. And loving every bit of it! Spring is upon us too, here in Australia, so what better can it get? Life is such.

This goes out to all you out there. Muah!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Lastly, on a totally random streak, here’s the sweetness that I read today first thing in the morning, and I knew I had to share it with you. Read the following and then tell me if we were more creative as wee kids?

*~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~

A first grade teacher collected well known proverbs. She gave each child in her class the first half of a proverb and asked them to come up with the remainder of the proverb. It’s hard to believe these were actually done by first graders. While reading keep in mind that these are six year-olds.

It’s always darkest before……………….Daylight Saving Time

Never underestimate the power of……..termites

You can lead a horse to water but……. how?

Don’t bite the hand that………………….looks dirty

No news is…………………………………impossible

A miss is as good as a…………………. Mr.

You can’t teach an old dog new………. math

If you lie down with dogs, you’ll………..stink in the morning

Love all, trust…………………………….. me

The pen is mightier than the……………pigs

An idle mind is……………………………the best way to relax

Where there’s smoke there’s…………..pollution

Happy the bride who…………………….gets all the presents

A penny saved is……………………….. not much

Two’s company, three’s……………….. the Musketeers

Children should be seen and not……..spanked or grounded

When the blind leadeth the blind…….. get out of the way

If at first you don’t succeed……………..get new batteries

Don’t put off till tomorrow what…………you put on to go to bed

Laugh and the whole world laughs with you, cry and……..you have to blow your nose

You get out of something only what you……… see in the picture on the box

*~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**~*~*~*~*~**

17 Responses to “6-Month Anniversary, Thank Yous and Babe-Speak”

  1. T.S. Bazelli October 4, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Congratulations on 6 months! The great thing about the internet is being able to meet such wonderful inspiring people. Your blog always puts a a smile on my face. :)

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 4, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

      Thank you Tessa! You are sure one of those who have been there while I kept this blog going :)
      Aww, how sweet. I am obliged.

      -BrownEyed

  2. jannatwrites October 4, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    Wow, congrats on the 6 months! (For some reason, I thought you’d been around much longer than that – my 6 months was 9/28).

    You were the first ‘stranger’ to comment on my blog…and subscribe to it. I’m so happy to say that you’re not a stranger anymore – you’re a terrific fellow blogger…and friend. I looke forward to your inspirational posts…keep ‘em coming!

    P.S. I do think creativity is more active in kids. I was just thinking about this the other day, and I think the suffocation of my creativity began when adults insisted I color in the lines…don’t make tree leaves purple…don’t make grass red…don’t color so dark…well, you get the idea.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 4, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      Thank J! LOL, did you now? Perhaps I look old? Oh no wait–but I haven’t put up a picture yet. So I must be writing old. :P

      BTW, I love your Gravatar/Avatar whatever it is called that you recently put up. That’s you, right?

      You deserved it all–I love your style. You know, a little sarcastic of your ownself in a funny sorta way. :)

      I think so too. Kids are so much more imaginative. I think we should loan stories from them for our writing! :P

      -BrownEyed

      • jannatwrites October 4, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

        Oh boy…looks like I can stick my foot in my mouth without actually SAYING a word (ha, ha). Your words don’t look a day over twenty-one :) (no really, you just seemed so at ease with the blogging thing and had such useful content, I figured you’d been at it awhile.) I’m still working on the useful content for my blog, but I’m beginning to accept the fact that it may not happen.

        Yes, the gravatar is me. Being the paranoid internet person that I am, I’ve had second thoughts about using it, but I’ve kept it because it makes my blog and comments more personal. (Couldn’t bring myself to use my entire face…I think it looks better as a partial anyway.)

      • Brown Eyed Mystic October 4, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

        Hehe–come on! I don’t like getting all pink-cheeked. :D

        BTW, your blog is awesome, and like I already said, I love your hidden sense of humour.

        And if that’s you, let me tell you straight out: you look beautiful. Lovely curls! ;)

        -BrownEyed

  3. slightlyignorant October 4, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Congrats on the six months! Definitely a moment to be proud of :D. I love the piece you shared at the bottom ^_^.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 4, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

      Well, thank YOU! :)

      The kids never let us down, do they?

      -BrownEyed

  4. aloysa October 5, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    Six months! Wow! This is huge and great and amazing. Your blog is very inspiring, interesting and entertaining. And thought provoking. You should be very proud of how far you came! Six months! It is definitely a reason to celebrate. :-)

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 5, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

      Aloysa, I must thank you though–yeah for being there like this entry says, AND for indirectly nudging me to post the 6-month entry via YOUR post ;)

      And you know, six months just passed by–poof, lost in the ether!

      But am glad they did THIS way :)

      -BrownEyed

  5. Ollin October 5, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    What a sweet post!

    We all love you too, BrownEyed! I feel the same way about my readers {which include you} and so I totally understand where you are coming from! Apparently we’ve lost one, Lua deleted her blog! I hope that doesn’t mean she’s gone for good.

    Thanks for the last part, it was hilarious!

    Congrats on 6 months, and congrats on gaining confidence as a writer! :)

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 5, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

      Sweet ones find everything sweet! So, thank you for being the sweet-stuff, Ollin :)

      And I noticed it yesterday myself–WHY would Lua do that?! I hope she comes back, with a bang :)

      LOL wasn’t it? These kiddos must be made of awesome stuff–darn creative!

      -BrownEyed

  6. darksculptures October 5, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    YAY! Congratulations. I’m in Florida. By the way and you can call me Trista, or DS which seems to be popular, short, and easy to type.

    Blogging the journy has most definately kept me on track and also a great way to break the writer’s block when it gets in my way.

    I laughed and smiled while reading the proverbs. Especially “blow your nose”. A childs imagination is endless and I think the most successful writers are the ones who can regain that unjaded, ungaurded, access to creativity.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 6, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

      Whokay Trista! I like it. It gives a personal touch more than DS :)
      So hope you don’t mind me calling you that.

      Hehe–funny, aren’t they? Yes, I agree with you, totally. Gotta love that imagination!

      -BrownEyed

  7. Cities of the Mind October 15, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    First thing, congrats! That’s a definite milestone!

    I loved those quotes, especially, “Never underestimate the power of……..termites.” Seriously, those things can live a century, eat houses, and spit acid out of their heads. And when the blind leadeth the blind, get out of the way. That’s the kind of common sense that just can’t be taught.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 17, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

      Thank you so much :)

      I know, the kiddos totally rock! Gotta love them.

      -B

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reading Picks of the Week | The Kitchen Sink - October 6, 2010

    [...] Mystic (who describes herself as “a dreamer, a writer, a thinker… a mystic“) on her 6 months blogoversary (I think I‘ve heard this word before)! I am very happy I got to know you, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

