Four Habits of Highly Creative People

30 Oct

Creative Habits Do you know how some people are so involved into what they do? Have you noticed how they are always on a life-nourishing high, ready to kick-start their day, jumping out of their bed, eating a bite of Sun in the morning, inhaling that aroma of an Indian tea and loving every moment of their existence? Yes, I mean those people who are highly creative in a sense they are closely tied up with their passions in life. They are creators of absolute awe-inspiring beauty—be it in the field of writing, painting, fire-fighting, music or accounting. They are so beautiful and comfortable in their skin that you eventually feel a steady link of goodness-energy coming from them to you.

By “creative” I don’t necessarily mean “artistic” (though it takes a form of art too). I mean trail-setting, powerful, manifesting creativity whereby we create our own life-situations. They are the manifestors of their realities. They are the creators.

I have been lucky to know such people. I have seen their creations and I have made an observation. (It may really be secret spying but let’s just refer to it as an observation for now.) And it has to do with their habits. Here goes:

The Four Habits of Highly Creative People:

Habit # 1: Graciousness: Creative people practise graciousness in every walk of life. I read Ollin’s post today about how writers ignore their bodies. Instantly, I remembered how Ancient Egyptians likened their bodies to Temples. They were thankful for their bodies. Likewise, creative people are thankful for every mundane or significant giving that they bear. Nothing is so lowly that it does not deserve a thanks-giving. Got a new reader comment on your blog? Be gracious, and express it. Got a terrific idea of how to make your plot fool-proof? Be grateful. Even the passion that you hold so dear only increases manifold when you feel genuinely grateful for it.

Habit # 2: Compassion: How did you feel the last time when someone showed understanding toward your problems? What did you think when they said they’d do anything to lift your worries? You felt great, didn’t you? Creative people are forever in-line with the Source. They are on the same page with the Universal flow. They practise a persistent, relentless act of compassion. They will make it a point to listen to all you got to say, and repeat what you said to show they’re there for you. When a friend or a colleague tells them about their day, they are checked in and present there in the moment, and not checked out somewhere in an airy-fairy land. They radiate a gentle understanding toward others that in-turn puts them back on life-giving positive flow.

Habit # 3: Joy: This one’s my favourite on the list. I love, love, love to see someone so into whatever it is they’re doing. Lately, a bunch of painters have been coming to paint the outsides of our units. They occasionally joke around among each other, punch each other in the arm playfully, keep the radio on while doing their stuff, but besides that, they are so involved in and happy with what they’re doing in the moment! I can really relate. I see them, busy looking into the walls, white-washing them and spilling the semi-liquid-like droplets of colour on their dungarees, totally joyful. This is what creative people know of very well—they enjoy their state of being. There’s a constant state of joy. (I occasionally wonder what would happen if someone fixed a hidden camera above my desk; I would love to see how I look when I am doing what I love the most ;) ) By the way, I read somewhere that an accidental NDE (Near Death Accident) can temporarily take you in this state of pervasive happiness. Hmm. Interesting!

Habit # 4: Acceptance and Responsibility: Creative people know of their powers to create–they know how to sculpt their own life-stories from beginning. Abundance in art, finance, relationships, and emotional front is easy to have. They have accepted that we humans are powerful creative machines, only if they acknowledge their own abilities and that we must be responsible creators. We can create the deadliest of weapons, but what’s the point if we don’t feel responsible for anything that might happen then? Humans can have the most strictest of laws but what’s the point if they (laws) don’t yield what was expected? Accepting that we have the creative buttons and acting responsibly is second nature of creative people. They know the code, and they know the secret passage of life.

Me? Each passing day, I see the list and try to emulate it in the best of my capacity. I can say I’ve grown to be a better writer, a better friend, a better person since I started. :)

Share your thoughts in the Comment Box.

Image Courtesy: www.photoRee.com

20 Responses to “Four Habits of Highly Creative People”

  1. T.S. Bazelli October 30, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    This is a great reminder. I fail regularly on some of those points, but it’s something to strive for. One day maybe I’ll be that person :) I think you’re well on your way as well.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 31, 2010 at 9:14 am #

      I think your writing reflects you are already on the way too, Tessa. :) Thanks for taking the gentle reminder.

      -BrownEyed

  2. Ollin October 30, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Loving it! Beautiful post BrownEyed, I loved that last part. I love that last part. This is the journey of my own life, I keep learning the same lesson over and over again with ever aspect of my life: I create it, I create it, I create it. I am responsible for it and I accept this responsibility, etc. Yes this is very true, more people need to understand that that they create a lot of their lives.

    Anyways, with that said, BrownEyed let me extend an invitation to you to be my next wonderful, insightful, inspirational guest blogger. I was wondering if you’d be available for Nov.8. I can put you in. You can use my contact page to get in touch with me. Look forwarding to having you over, that is of course if you say yes, which I hope you will. Happy creating! :)

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 31, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      Well thank you Ollin! I loved your response–so full of child-like excitement! :) Glad you find truth in the piece and that you can relate. I am happy for you to have considered the creative powers we possess. It’s great to have ya on the ride!

      Oh sure, I’d love to. Let me pop you an email about the same in a jiffy.

      Love,
      BrownEyed

  3. jannatwrites October 30, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    I agree with your observations. All are good things to keep in mind, especially when things get out of balance and negativity seems to have the upper hand.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 31, 2010 at 9:22 am #

      I know. And I have you as an inspiration-cum-example to prove my point to others, if need be. I can say how resilient you are in your writing adventures that we all come across but cannot deal with so well–you can bounce back and make a Jack-in-the-box feel ashamed! :)

      Love, BrownEyed

  4. Maimoona Rahman October 30, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    Acceptance is the hardest thing.

    Beautifully written.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 31, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      Thanks Maimoona! Glad you like it.

      And did I ever tell you I am a fan of your bit sarcastic, saucy writing style?

      -BrownEyed

  5. dana October 31, 2010 at 2:55 am #

    So wonderful. A beautiful reminder to live life fully and to breathe live into one’s own creations. Thanks for the perfect beginning to my day. Cheers.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 31, 2010 at 9:25 am #

      I am so glad that I could contribute to a perfect beginning for you, Dana. Though, by all means, it is your own good perception of the piece that’s made your day start better, not I. :)

      Thanks for dropping by!

      -BrownEyed

  6. T.A. Olivia (aka) Darksculptures October 31, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    I’m trying so hard to get back to that Joy and emulate the happiness that creating something personal and beautiful used to bring. It has been a long journey of self-discovery and healing. Although I’m not there yet, I am confident that I will one day succeed.

    These reminders are just the thing to help me get back on track. Thank you my friend for being a positive influence through this process.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic October 31, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      I can relate–and healing is powerful, beautiful. I am happy you are reflecting and creating in every moment of life, lovely. Don’t thank me, I am just a fellow traveller who happened to see your shine and got attracted to you. :)
      So thank you.

      -BrownEyed

  7. tahliaN November 1, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    This is all so true and it’s great to see how you’ve captured the essence here.
    What about being a slave to your creative impulses though? That’s me. That’s how come I wrote Lethal Inheritance (ch 1 is on my blog if you’re intersted). I couldn’t defy the muse.

    I like what you’re writing here. I’ll follow you, just have to work out which way is best.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic November 1, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

      Tahlia,

      I “wandered” around your place–it’s great to see your interests and writing style in the non-vampirish, non-werewolfish but mind-bending paranormal genre. That’s a refreshing change! I’d love to see more of telepathy, telekinesis and the likes in books, sure. :)

      Thanks for dropping by. I am so glad you find what I wrote insightful. I am hoping to see you more often ;)

      -BrownEyed

  8. brownpaperbaggirl November 7, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    Totally true, Browneyed. Lovely post.

  9. Miss Rosemary November 9, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Oh number three is a really good one!

  10. nrhatch November 15, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Why you sneaky little spy . . . :)

    Wonderful observations. When these traits shine forth, I see it as “Spirit” shining through.

    Of course, sometimes when we act from a place of “compassion,” our words and actions are misconstrued by those on a different path.

    Namaste.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic November 15, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

      Bwhahaha, that I am ;)

      Thank you lovely. I appreciate a nod from a knower like you. :)

      Namaste.

      -BrownEyed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

