Resolutions Galore and Quick Feedback

31 Dec

Dear awesome you,

The new year is almost here, and most of us are busy thinking of a resolution. There’s no doubt resolutions are good at keeping us motivated. But I wonder, aren’t we supposed to make resolutions everyday rather than just the 1st of January each year? I tend to believe so.

Too often, we stick to yearly resolutions, which is like telling the subconscious that there won’t be any resolutions, even if need be, until next year. Whoa. That’s an extreme statement to make, don’t you think?

So let me offer a simple way out. Have a resolution any time, any where you deem necessary. If you think you’re gaining weight, would you wait till the year-end and then do something about it? If you want to include a bit of travel to spice up your life, would you not want to start now? There. Then why wait?

Fix a time each day, or week, list down your resolutions and go for it! I’d be there to cheer for you.

Happy - New Year or Not

Time for a Feedback Cookie

Folks, since this is my last post for 2010 (how I thoroughly loved that year!), I’d like to take this opportunity and ask you for a feedback.

Many of you read my posts regularly and quite a few of us even know each other by our names. I am glad to have met you. Whether you left a comment once, visited my blog some time or greet me every now and then, thank you for it.

Since you are the best judge, I have arranged a small poll and a list of open-ended questionnaire below. Feel free to answer all or any. I’d love to see what clicks, what’s does not, what YOU like to see more on this blog.

1. What did you love the most about this blog?

2. What would you like to see improve?

3. Do you think the frequency of posts (once in a week to 10 days) is good for your tastes?

Please follow the link to vote for a simple poll. Thank you so much for taking time out and sharing your thoughts.

I Would Like to See

Have a happy and abundant new year! See you in a year. ;)

Love,

BrownEyed

Photo by nexus6 at PhotoRee.com

20 Responses to “Resolutions Galore and Quick Feedback”

  1. nrhatch January 1, 2011 at 2:33 am #

    Every day, I resolve to . . . be the best “me” I can be.

    I like your blog as it is. Happy New Year!

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 1, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Now that’s like resolving ;)Thank you so much for the kind words!

      -BrownEyed

  2. Messina Studio January 1, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    I personally like your blog because you have a very sweet sentiment yet are very intelligent and come off as so. It’s a nice mixture that you don’t see often. This is just what I like in blogs – but I tend to like shorter/or spaced out posts more often. I think you do a pretty good job with how you layout your posts though – I would just like to see stuff more often :) Have a Happy New Years!

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 1, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      Thank you for the candid suggestion and your comments, Messina. I hope this year I can raise the bars and churn out still better posts for you :)

      -BrownEyed

  3. acleansurface January 1, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    I haven’t been reading long enough to answer the first two. I’m fine with the frequency.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 1, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      That’s great Rayme! I take it as a room for development of a mutual and lovely relationship between us then ;) That said, I do hope you drop by more often and that I can deliver quality posts for your tastes.

      Thank you!

      -BrownEyed

  4. knot2share January 1, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    I hope you had a great time in the East Coast and welcome to the first day in the new year!!

    What do I like about this blog? I find answers to my questions here. Again, I have not been a reader here for as long of some of your other friends. I don’t see anything that needs a change. You are doing just fine with way you are, sharing important pieces of advice and thoughts.

    Now here is something I noticed yesterday on somebody’s blog about forming an online Critique group or something. You came to mind straightaway. Is that something you would be interested in? Have a look here if you wish to:

    http://othersideof40.wordpress.com/2010/12/29/to-blog-or-not-to-blog/#comments

    Resolutions for this year ……… Enjoy, learn and be healthy.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 1, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      Thank you lovely. I love your insightful comments and you’re a great reader :)

      Well, I did enjoy the trip a lot. Still recovering from the overdose of fun. Should be back in a day or two. ;)

      Thanks for the link. I checked it out! I’d love to join however I couldn’t find the exact group that you referred. Perhaps it’s still in formation?

      That’s a very productive resolution. Good luck!

      -BrownEyed

      • knot2share January 1, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

        Hi!

        I don’t think the exact group is there yet. It is just that one of them mentioned the wish to form an online critique group. So I thought if you are interested, you could possibly reply to her comment or something…

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 2, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

      Ah yes I see their discussion. Thank you for pointing it out :)

      -BrownEyed

  5. jannatwrites January 1, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    I like weekly posts (or more often, if you were so inclined.) I did your poll, but I like your blog as-is. I like that your posts are informative and your comments responses are so nice and encouraging; you’re a friend to everyone.

    Happy new year to you, BrownEyed :)

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 1, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      That suits me too, but I do stretch it to 10 days many times. I will definitely try to post more often though. Thank you for the frank suggestions Janna. And thanks for those kind words too. :)

      Have a warm 2011.

      -BrownEyed

  6. Cities of the Mind January 2, 2011 at 5:43 am #

    Well, first off, I don’t know what all these other people are doing commenting on a post clearly addressed to me. I mean the point is a good one, and anyone can gain from it, and they all seem like great people, but are they really awesome?

    Are you cringing yet? I am, and all I had to do was write that, not read it. . . Anyhow, you’re a very good writer, so you can probably get along with any subject you choose to address so just write what ya want, and I’m sure we’ll all enjoy reading it. Once a week seems like a good pace if you want to keep people coming back. Humans are creatures of habit, after all. Hope that’s useful feedback to some degree.

    Happy New Year! Hope you’re not making your posts from a rescue boat.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 2, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

      Haha. Sure it is addressed to you Connor. (You’re funny to the core–but you already knew it, right? ;)) And no I didn’t cringe one bit! :P

      Thank you for the honest (I’m assuming) feedback. It helps a ton!

      You too have a warm and brilliant 2011.

      -BrownEyed

  7. Miss Rosemary January 3, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    I think the thing I loved the best about this blog was how I could always see your personality coming through and relate to what it was you were talking about. You’re honest and witty. Post regularity was the perfect amount, not too much, not too little. Keep up the good work girl!

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 3, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      Thank you so much for the insights lovely. I am glad you find it so! :)

      -BrownEyed

  8. Hema P. January 4, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Happy New Year! Great post! I have never been much of a resolution-maker. This year I’m going to try to be more positive in whatever I do.

    Btw, thanks for visiting my blog (that was a few weeks ago, but then I was on a blog-break and got back to it just today)!

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 4, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

      Thank You Hema. I hope you to have a warm and abundant year ahead!

      I enjoyed your blog thoroughly. Thank you for sharing it!

      -BrownEyed

  9. Ollin January 4, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Well, BrownEyed. You know I love you, and I love to hear more from you, so I would suggest twice a week. There’s really not much else, you are doing a fantastic job here.

    I believe you are a very talented writer, as evidenced by all the attention you got with your guest post over at my blog. I hope it shows you that you deserve so much more attention than you are currently getting. So I’m just going to give you some friendly encouragement to maybe take a little bit more risk and put yourself out there a bit more. Let some more readers find out how amazing you are. It’s not as hard as you might think, you just have to get over that initial fear and then your golden.

    Much love and I hope so many wonderful things happen for you this year, my friend.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic January 4, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

      Aww. Thank you Ol. I appreciate the love coming this side ;) I tend to agree; I have been thinking of increasing the frequency, but at the same time haven’t come up with an awesome way to balance the work and blogging. Now that you’ve gently pushed me forward, I think I will attempt it once and see.

      You’ve hit bull’s eye Ollin. I know I should be “exposing” the vulnerable writer within a bit more. Point taken! And I definitely could use some more attention ;)

      You’re a gem. Thank you for the frank opinion.

      -BrownEyed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

