A Very Personal Post

21 Sep

Hello folks. Just a reminder. A new article by me is posted on TSN. Enjoy and please share your thoughts! :)

Coping with stress

I am a self-employed freelance writer and if you have ever worked for yourself (or worked at a demanding job), you can probably related to the sentiment that stress from work is one of the biggest factors that can cripple your mind and body.

As much as being your own boss is fun and it can give you the tremendous freedom, it can also be extremely demanding and emotionally stressful. You end up wearing many hats in your company: marketing, HR, the IT person, customer relations and CEO. If I stopped working, so will my business. All pressure is on me.

As the day starts, my brain races through the list of tasks that “must” be fulfilled during the next 10-12 hours. Sometimes, I’d get so distracted that I would completely ignore what my partner just said. Sometimes, I would rush through a whole day and not remember what I ate for breakfast. [Read More].

Photo by Angelo González.

4 Responses to “A Very Personal Post”

  1. Tracey Jackson September 21, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Great post. So important we run so fast and furiously to get “there” only to find another state of there looming. Or the satisfaction isn’t enough. The ability to just slow it down is so hard for us now especially with the Internet holding an imaginary stopwatch. Thank you for writing this

    • Pooja September 29, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Thanks Tracey. It’s important to realise how manipulative stress can become! Thankfully, I am far from it now. :) I wrote this piece a few months ago.

      -
      Pooja

      • Peg Crippen October 4, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

        Needed to read this post. I think we all need reminders about self-care and stress relief at times. I agree so much that the media adds so much stress to life! I hate the negativity of it all. I am married to a news addict, so sometimes I just have to leave the room to get away from it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Copywriting 4 U February 23, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    Great info thanks its very useful

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

