What Drives You to Put Your Creative “Ta Da” on the World?

15 Dec

Every passionate act has an endorsing drive, an inspiration, behind it. Even writing. What drives you to write, dear thankful/successful/earning/hard-working writer? What is that one thing that makes you get up in the morning, and get going with your writing? What inspires you the most to put your creative “ta da” on the world, every day?

What inspired you today?

Okay I’ll start. For me, it’s the sheer act of sharing. Ideas, comments, opinions, plots, arcs, slants — whatever it be. Just a thought of having to share something, anything, in writing with the whole world drives me to jump out of an imaginary rut and kick start. I love to bring something to the creative table each day. Without this, the creative land seems barren.

For example, I’d be reading a favourite blog, or an article or perhaps sifting through my own work on the hard disk while thinking about that intimidating project half-mindedly. You know, the kind? But the next thing I’d be shown ideas to develop on for this pending task via the blog or article I’ve been reading! Trust me on this: It’s like the Universe hinting and encouraging you to take up the task by throwing numerous juicy ideas your way! All in a subtle sense. Isn’t it then magical that you bump into ideas while doing something else? Sure is.

The point is, when you have the drive, you are shown the way. Literally. All . you . need . is . a . drive! And when you have that, miracles happen. You may be imagining what’s the best way to write a piece, and bam, you’ve got an idea packed in a newsletter. Or you may be thinking how to name your character, and woo hoo, you bump into a perfect match in the newspaper – all very accidentally. I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I’ve seen this happen.

UPDATE 1: Just as I was about to post this entry, I got an email (a newsletter to be precise) titled, “20 Ideas About Ideas (Real Cool List)”

UPDATE 2: A few seconds ago I came across a documentary which deals with the exact topic my second ghostwritten book is about, viz. the role of others (society, parents, friends, governments) in making us what we are today. Rest assured that I was not researching for my book at this moment.

How’s that for a synchronicity? Some may dismiss it as a co-incidence, but I take it like a little help package from the Universe. Why, wasn’t I talking of “ideas” when it got delivered? ;)

So tell me, my lovely writers, what is it that drives YOU? Is it the amazing feeling you get when you dream your name on a tangible print copy of a magazine? Or is it the genuine comments you await on your blog? Is it the recognition, name and fame? Is it the liberation?

What drove you today? Come on hey . . . tell us, pronto! ;)

Photo By artjunkgirl at PhotoRee.com

27 Responses to “What Drives You to Put Your Creative “Ta Da” on the World?”

  1. sonal chopra December 15, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Loved this post. You’re right, we all do have a purpose to write :) For me, it’s just the sheer joy of creating a good peice of writing that inspires others and puts a smile on theie face.. sharing my joys in the hope that they’ll brighten up someone else’s day :)

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 15, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

      Thank You Sonal. I am glad you could see right through it ;)

      And thanks for stopping by too — I hope we’ll cross paths all too often!

      -BrownEyed

  2. nrhatch December 15, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    Wonderful post, Brown Eyed.

    Our purpose is to find our purpose and then pursue it with passion. That passion for writing . . . makes it happen for me.

    Somedays more than others.

    There are days when I wake up, think of an idea, and literally bounce out of bed to put it into words.

    And synchronicity always makes me smile at the Universe and its gifts.

    Thanks!

  3. Brown Eyed Mystic December 15, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Wow, I so know what you’re saying here. Thank you for the wonderful reply.

    I know, some days are just quite “more right” than others — but I’m sure you equally enjoy all of those.

    -BrownEyed

  4. Rayme of acleansurface December 15, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    I am writing for two reasons. The first is that I just love writing, I love choosing the words, rearranging them, revising them, and then feeling proud of my work. I wanted to write, but for the longest time I thought the only things were fiction (no thanks) and research (again, no thanks). Then I realized I can write anything at all. Thanks, WordPress!
    The other reason is that I started a small business, and my blog relates to it, so it is both a desire to promote and a desire to…help clarify my thoughts and plans, to make the business better.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 15, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

      Hmmm….Interesting Rayme.

      A business combined with writing is one of my fav things! ;) And I wish you luck with this endeavour.

      Another biggie on my list — feeling proud of what you create. Totally agree.

      And of course there’s more to writing than fiction. Hope you’re enjoying your journey.

      -BrownEyed

  5. duke1959 December 15, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    For me ( like it would be for someone else) its my drug. I love to write so much that if I don’t then feel empty.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 16, 2010 at 11:12 am #

      Wow — a drug. Never thought of that metaphor. Thanks for sharing your secret, Duke :)

      -BrownEyed

  6. slightlyignorant December 16, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    Great post! I agree with you on a certain level – I love sharing my writing as well. But for me, what gets me writing is more the sheer fact of creating a story. Since I’m an avid reader, and the thing I love most is to sit down with a book, I feel a sense of absolute magic when I manage to create something myself.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 16, 2010 at 11:13 am #

      Ah… I know that splendid feeling you’re talking about! I’ve been getting the high on off through short-stories, for myself. I can clearly imagine what writing a whole book would create.

      -BrownEyed

  7. T.S. Bazelli December 16, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    I’ve experienced the same thing. Maybe the unconscious mind is more attuned to these kinds of things if you’re working on a problem or an idea. I’m not sure. Maybe it is just coincidence, but I like to think it’s more than that :)

    What drives me? The stories. They want to be told, and won’t leave me alone until I do write them down.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 16, 2010 at 11:16 am #

      Yes, the wild unconscious. I agree. Sometimes, I do dismiss less important things as a coincidence, but then I’ve noticed attending to them makes a lee-way from a bigger, better coincidence ;)

      Of course they won’t leave you Tessa. They WANT to be shared themselves. Doesn’t that give them life?

      -BrownEyed

  8. Ollin December 16, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    I think what drives me is the belief that my work inspires and moves others to create and believe in themselves. I want to feel like my life has purpose and value, and it can only have that if I am really out to serve others. Serving others is the best way to serve yourself. Awesome post as always, my friend.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 16, 2010 at 11:20 am #

      I am floored. This is very sweet and considerate of you, Ollin. Serving others explores something that no other aspect of writing does — feeling of oneness.

      I don’t want to get preachy, but more than one time I’ve been blessed to help someone with writing, and the feeling is euphoric. Sometimes, I reckon the ego is bubbling because of the deed, but then I look deeper and there it is, a subtle feeling, an outcome of genuine service.

      -BrownEyed.

      • Ollin December 17, 2010 at 9:40 am #

        You nailed it!

  9. KrisEKing December 16, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Wonderful post. I often find the universe delivers best when we’re not looking for it. I think that is my biggest proponent in writing. When the universe acknowledges my creative urges, then I know I am on the write track. It is not coincidence as a true mystic would know. I enjoyed this post and many others. Thank you for sharing, even if you didn’t love to, it would still be a wonderful thing indeed :)

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 16, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      Exactly Kris, it is more so when you’re “not looking”. Like Santa delivers gift-wrapped packages with love when the kids are not looking, the Universe is doing the same. Except it doesn’t stop at Christmas. It goes on for our lifetime.

      I also agree when we’re in tune with our purpose, we’re shown the right ways. It’s a sign, as you say, that we’re on the right track.

      -BrownEyed

  10. suddenwriteturn December 16, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    What drives me to write is knowing with a primal certainty that writing is what I am made to do. Everyone has a gift they must nurture, and writing is mine. And as so many others have commented, a gift is wasted if it isn’t shared. Nothing else so completely fills me, and nothing else can so completely define me as writing can. Thank you for your insightful blog post!

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 16, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

      I love the way you put it Terra. Sharing is a gift in itself :) and I’m glad you’ve found it so.

      Thank You!

      -BrownEyed

  11. jannatwrites December 16, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    The need to show myself I can write the story is the main reason I write. A secondary motivator is the idea that my writing could entertain others.

    I love the ‘gifts from the universe’, as you call them. They don’t happen to me often, but when they do, I take note!

    P.S. I like the new blog format

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 16, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

      Oh yes, self-appraisal–how can we ever forget that! ;) I tend to agree. I do the same myself.

      Thank You! I changed it after posting this entry, so didn’t “officially” announce the change ;)

      -BrownEyed

  12. milkfever December 17, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Great post. You’ve got me thinking now. Okay, for me, the greatest joy is when the words fall into place. When they sound good to the ear and look right on the page. Sometimes they come out perfectly formed [this is terrific but rare] and other times [usually] it takes hours of changing, deleting, coffee, more editing, to get them polished enough to sit back and admire. That’s what I love. The ‘sit back and smile’ factor. Job well done.

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 17, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

      Hmmm. The technicalities combined with the love of the written word, eh? I know what you’re saying; it’s what we call the style and flow that count. Definitely.

      -BrownEyed

  13. knot2share December 17, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Nice post and loved going through all the comments too. I have never sat down to find out what drives me to write what I have managed. I know there is some trigger but can’t pinpoint yet. I write because it feels good and I am very proud of my achievement. Every post that I manage to create is like asset building exercise for me. Like milkfever, I sit back and smile at my own posts and sometimes I read through them many number of times because it feels good. Comments is not something I have had much luck with and that does not worry me too much. I use my space on WordPress to write what I want to. These mental dialogues that we are known to engage in most of the time, I put my dialogues into words on the virtual page………

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 17, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

      At times not in not knowing lies knowing. I completely understand how you cannot pinpoint that wonderful sensation–it’s meant to be felt, and you are feeling it. :)

      So all’s well. I also love your “asset-building” definition! Thanks for sharing.

      And of course it’s not about comments. Though, some bloggers do consider it is a type of appraisal. Which is not bad either. ;)

      -BrownEyed

  14. A Wee Adventure December 24, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    My theory on while people write – or do anything creative for that matter – is that it’s an attempt to capture (and thereby comprehend and perhaps even control) something about the world we live in.

    There are so many amazing, beautiful, dreadful things going around us that it’s too almost much to bear – but if we could just convey our emotions about one single thing then that would be something.

    It’s like seeing a beautiful sunset; the sky streaked with blues and purples and the world turning to carefully crafted outlines – it’s an aching beautiful moment yet you know that within minutes it will be gone, never to return in quite the same way and you won’t have the chance to share it with someone or show them how it made you feel. So you take a photo don’t you – but somehow the photo is never enough, it doesn’t capture everything. And so you pick up your pen instead…

    • Brown Eyed Mystic December 25, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by, David.

      I love the way you describe it–a picture taken is never enough, indeed! It’s a perfect analogy. They said a picture speaks more than a thousand words–but on second thoughts, I’ve been to movies but could never feel the essence captured as well as their corresponding books from which they’re drawn out. I’ve always preferred books :)

      Have a merry Christmas.

      -BrownEyed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

